dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Best-laid plans and sinister schemes

on August 8, 2012

At last I can hold up my head. I’ve finally started blogging. Joined the world from the cloisters of my writing/reading/living peacefully hide-out.

I’m told writers need visibility and that blogging (plus Twitter, and Facebook and GoodReads and loads more) are what’s now required.  I’d love to know what you think.

Is it a creepy ploy by publishers to stop us churning out more books that we might even self-publish on Kindle and compete with them? Or is this truly the way to launch our writing on to the world?

I’m planning to blog only when I’ve completed my daily word quota. (Of course I might need to reduce the quota occasionally!) But the plan is to continue writing (SPCK have already issued a contract for my next book with them – and I’m currently working on a new novel) and blog on a fairly regular basis.

Is this possible? Does blogging compete with writing? Or are these two compatible?

3 responses to “Best-laid plans and sinister schemes

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Pat says:

    Yay! Welcome to the fold. Well done. I am following you!

  3. Anne says:

    Well done, Dorothy. I’ve often thought blogging would be seriously good fun! I’ll be keeping an eye on you.

Leave a Reply

