dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

How to get stuck in again

on September 18, 2012

I don’t write on Sundays. I’m strict about that.

Sunday is God’s day and the only work I allow myself on Sunday is when I’m up front at a church leading worship.

I tried doing my 1,000 words on Saturday morning for a few weeks but it made Saturday merge into the rest of the week, which is not a good idea. I need Saturday to feel different, to help put structure into my week.

And I need it for the laundry and the grocery shopping and all the other chores that trip you up during the week if you haven’t done them.

And Friday is the day I take my husband out. (Nice pic of where we went last Friday: Woodbridge in Suffolk)

So I didn’t do my 1,000 words on Friday, Saturday or Sunday.

 

And yesterday kind-of slithered away till it was 5.15 and I hadn’t done my 1,000 words and really didn’t want to.

Ugh.

In fact, double ugh because I feel extra worse (yes I know that’s not grammatical but it’s expressive!) for not having written.

So to today.

I want to write those 1,000 words.

Ah. Not so. I want to have written those 1,000 words. And that’s where I’m going wrong. I’m seeing the 1,000 words as a target, a challenge, a hurdle to overcome. Something I have to do. Some thing.

Remember the old Righteous Brothers’ song:  ‘You’ve lost that lovin’ feeling’? That’s what’s happened. I’ve taken my eye off the people who captivated me and inspired me and made me itch to discover their story… and in its place was yet one more ‘have to’ , one more ‘to do’ which got added on to the bottom of my ‘To do’ list.

And we all know what happens to the stuff at the bottom of the ‘To do’ list: it don’t get done!

I do want to finish discovering the story of my fisher family. I do want to get to the happy ever after. And I do love writing about them. Once I get started.

It’s weird that it’s so difficult to do the things we know we love and are good for us. Oh whoops, I feel a Scripture reminder coming on. Saint Paul:  ‘For I do the things I don’t want to do and I don’t do the things I do want to do’.  Something like that. Well, it won’t do.

Time to put that 1,000 words at the top of my To-do list. Time to remember what I’m really doing. As Luke was to St Paul, I’m simply the scribe telling the story and I need to find it out first. And like Luke, it’s not a day job but a calling. And as in any calling from God, there will be opposition.

But we have the victory, so… we can do this! Let’s do it!

2 responses to “How to get stuck in again

  1. Pat says:

    Spotted this great photo and seemed to recognise it!

Leave a Reply

