dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Dementia Diary 9: Relax!

on September 28, 2012

Wake to blue sky and sunshine. My sister is suggesting we go out today and do something holidayish.

It feels odd. Friday is my taking-my-husband-out day so a day “off” feels weird.

I’ve been here four days and I’m still sleeping late every morning. Big sister says not to worry about it. I obviously still have a sleep debt to catch up on. At home I usually wake between 5 and 6 a.m. Here it’s more like….. 9 a.m!

I hadn’t realised I even had a sleep debt!

This has to be a carer thing – where our own needs have been pushed so far down the heap that they disappear from our consciousness. Does this sound like you?

I realise I’ve been driving myself. Keeping myself busy, busy, because I feel guilty if I’m not. Sound familiar?

Doesn’t help us or our loved one. Just wears us out sooner…

So today, I’m going to try to relax and enjoy my day “off” with my sister. (You’ll recognise the need to try!)

THE TEXT: Let’s go for bust and have all of Psalm 23 today! Green pastures and peaty brown salmon rivers, yes!

THE PRAYER: Heavenly Father, You long for us to accept Your peace and love. Today, help us relax and rest in Your care for us.

SELF-CARE SUGGESTION: When you have time “off” make it really off-duty and enjoy (even if you have to make an effort to do it!)

Leave a Reply

