dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Get back to work!

on October 8, 2012

This morning was the morning I was going to launch back into my comfortable routine and get that novel moving again. Yes!

Actually, no. Or at least, not yet.

I admit to having ‘wasted’ some time. (I have a wickedly difficult jigsaw puzzle half-done on the coffee table downstairs.) I made a batch of yummy courgette and yellow split pea soup (1 portion for lunch, 3 for the freezer: add a half-teaspoon of turmeric to make the yellow colour nice and deep.). I’ve spoken to a couple of friends on the phone. Checked my emails. Checked on the cats. (Both currently upstairs, but asleep in separate bedrooms.) Done a few admin chores,drunk  a couple of cups of coffee, had lunch, watched the tv news…

But no writing.

Bleh, as Snoopy would say.

Yesterday, inspired by my lovely week and walks with my sister, I decided to build back into my life the habit from my youth of Sunday afternoon country walks. I took myself off to Minsmere RSPB reserve and had a delightful hour or more strolling down to the beach, walking along the shore then back along the lakes and reedbeds, and finally through dappled woodland to the visitor centre where I helped the catering staff by finishing off the last slice of chocolate cake.

I was determined to find here in England the natural beauty that fed me in Scotland and was so important to me through my life. And of course I found it, and God’s sense of humour. Again.

For those of you who aren’t aware of this aspect of our Heavenly Father, He has a delicious sense of fun. Let me show you yesterday’s examples.

Going for a walk in the south-east of England, and feeling more than a weensy bit missing my native Scotland, I found…a herd of red deer.

And a nice clump of thistle.

 

 

 

 

 

And with His loving smile, I felt God was saying ‘I can provide everything you need. If you’ll let me.’

‘How shall we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?’ Psalm 137:4

Easy peasy!

But sometimes we have to remind ourselves – and then get back to work!

 

Leave a Reply

