dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Endings

on November 8, 2012

There’s something everyone and everything living on Planet Earth have in common: mortality. One day it will all come to an end.

Sometimes we may greet endings with a sigh of relief, other times we try to postpone the inevitable. Most of us are trying to do both at the same time on lots of things.

I’m well stuck in to The Skeleton Man by Jim Kelly. I’m loving it and I don’t want it to end, but I want to know how it ends. I want to ignore the blog this afternoon and settle down with the book and turn pages… But what will I read when it’s finished?

That reminds me I’ve just downloaded to my Kindle Ian Rankin’s first Rebus novel, Noughts and Crosses – so maybe I won’t feel so bereft! (I haven’t read any Rankin before but seeing his interview on BBC tv the other day made me curious…)

Endings. Life ends – sometimes gently, sometimes painfully, sometimes suddenly. But it ends. Nobody gets out alive. We mark the way stations along the road with birthdays. When you’re five and three-quarters, getting to six is so important and eagerly anticipated. But fifty-nine and three-quarters is a different story when the big six-oh looms.

This afternoon I spent an hour or so with twelve ladies, most of whom were considerably older than me. I learnt two new hymns, one of them lively and led with an unerring up-tempo beat by an eighty-plus-year old. Tea was served after the meeting and the chatter was cheerful and vibrant.

Many churches sadly decry their ageing congregations. For me, these older sisters are a special gift. None of them has got this far unscathed. Many are widowed, survivors of cancer, the death of a child, and lots of other disasters and heartbreak – but on they go. And they smile. And they cheer me up.

They tell me – without any words – that I can go on too. That’s there’s plenty yet to enjoy and a God in Heaven I can trust with what lies ahead. He got them through whatever they’ve been through and He’ll do the same for me if I’ll trust Him.

Funnily enough I was talking to them about trust. (Instant reminder of grandmothers and eggs! What the preacher is preaching is often what the preacher needs to hear first!) And so today, as I gird my loins in preparation for taking my husband out tomorrow, I am gently reminded that there is nothing I need fear – neither the journey nor the journey’s ending. Because there is One Who walks with me. One Who loves me.

I just need to trust.

 

2 responses to “Endings

  1. Lori Lipsky says:

    Beautiful photo. Lovely post. I can tell I like you already.

Leave a Reply

