dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Decisions, decisions

on November 17, 2012

Saturdays are weird. You can fill them up with the catch-up life-maintenance tasks we were too busy to do during the week, or pack a bag and head for the door… all the time with the nagging of the undone tasks following you like a limp shadow.

Today, I headed out. House-hunting. I’m looking to downsize and free up funds for my husband’s care. I much prefer small easy-care places so it will be a win-win for me. So off I went to look at three flats/apartments in a very pleasant traditional market town about ten miles from here (still within easy reach of the residential facility where he is).

All three were in the same complex – but so different. Two were ground-floor. The first I loved at once. The second I felt suffocated in. I liked the upstairs one too – but I liked much more the lady who owned it. I’d prefer she stayed put while I bought the ground-floor one I liked and became a friend!

Funny how some life decisions are taken swiftly. One look and the deal’s done. You just kind of know.  Other things you can chew over and scratch over and never come to a clear decision… usually resulting in a no, or the opportunity simply passing by.

My grandmother had a saying ‘If it’s for you, it won’t go past you.’  As an impatient teenager, I admit I found her calming saying simply irritating! Now though it is comforting, especially when I tie myself up in knots trying to be mature and sensible and weigh up the pros and cons!

The biggest ‘con’ relates to the cats, Bella and Lucy. Apparently, cats are allowed so long as they are house cats, indoors animals. Mine spend most of every day indoors. Snoozing comfortably. But they do go out. Bella tears up tall trees and telegraph poles, frightening squirrels and silly birds who think they’re safe. Lucy likes to play lion in the jungle and hunker down deep in the weed-cover, then leap a out at her sister with squeals of delight. (Well,  that’s what I think they are.)

I’m not at all convinced that it would be kind to even try to shoehorn my two free-living moggies into an overheated indoorsy life. With kitty litter tray.

And to be perfectly honest, I don’t think I’d like to live with a kitty litter tray in a small apartment/flat.

Can a kitty litter tray be a deal breaker? In this case, it just might be. I will continue to mull it over, while I go downstairs and hit the ironing which has been waiting so patiently for too many days. Just as well I’ve got a steam iron to get out the stubborn creases!

 

7 responses to “Decisions, decisions

  1. Such a tough one Dorothy. And I guess it wouldn’t be ‘home’ without your feline friends. Prayng that the solution will become glaringly obvious – and that if there is another place that is ideal for you you’ll find it quickly.

  2. Fran says:

    I really like the way you write.

  3. Pat says:

    Never sure about kitty litter trays. Once moved into a house where there had been indoor cats. Four of them. The house had a definite smell. But worse was when I was putting some plants in out in the garden and I realised that I wasn’t actually planting them in soil…..

    • Hilary says:

      Sad to leave the cats behind but sometimes we have to move on – our next door neighbour had a chance to go into a flat in St Barnabas but it meant parting with Boris. Somehow she made the break.

Leave a Reply

