dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Dementia Diary 28: Stormy weather

on December 14, 2012

It’s Friday. Outing day. So, despite the rain and wind, off I go. It’s no weather for an amble round the charity shops (which is what he used to like to do) so I suggest coffee in the warm at the pier cafe, watching the waves lash the promenade and hurl gouts of foam over the cars parked on the other side of the road.

Digital Image

I don’t think it really got light today. People huddle inside hoods and head-down scurry about their business. I drop him at the restaurant  for lunch and get soaked coming back from the car park.

Digital Image

We get soaked again returning to the car. Damp cord trousers are not nice. I feel I could almost wring them out. But the car heater is efficient and blows hot, drying air around our knees. Even so, I make sure he goes up to change when we get back to the care home.

Then I return to the beach and the wonderful storm. Maybe the best picture is from inside the car, because I’ve just noticed the gull.

Digital Image

At first it looks like a smear on the inside of the car window, but look closely: it is a gull flying through that storm of wind and rain. Like me, it is struggling to make headway.

I hope that, like me, it will survive today, albeit battered by the storm.

Text: “Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” Luke 12:7b

Prayer: Lord who cares for everyone and everything that You created, uphold us in Your loving hands and when we are exhausted, shelter us from the storm.

Self-care suggestion: Imagine for a moment that you are a little bird, resting safely in the large warm loving hands of your Heavenly Father. Feel the warmth. Breathe in the love that is there for you. Rest for a moment. Relax. Then when you’re ready, flutter your wings and fly back to your tasks.

One response to “Dementia Diary 28: Stormy weather

  1. Helen Murray says:

    Oh, lovely. I was really moved by this. Thankyou for sharing your hope in the middle of bleakness.
    I love the sea (and I love Southwold – but never seen it like this on our summer holidays) and I always feel close to God by the sea. The power, the permanence, vastness… and the little bird finding shelter in the cupped hands of the Father. Oh, Dorothy, you made me cry.
    Thankyou.

Leave a Reply

