dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

This too will pass

on December 16, 2012

Friday was stormy. Rain and wind. And such a grey day, it never seemed to get light.

Today has been completely different – bright and sunny, if still chill, tempting us out and down to the beach for a walk in the crisp fresh air.

Digital Image

Digital Image

And when I see how swiftly, how dramatically everything can change, I am comforted. It’s too easy when you live alone as I do to get bogged down by the sorrows and troubles of life. But today I hear God saying, ‘This too shall pass.’

As the Psalmist says in Psalm 40:

‘I waited patiently for the Lord; (or not so patiently if you’re me!)

he turned to me and heard my cry.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire.

He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. (For me, that’s Jesus.)

He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.’

Hallelujah!

 

Leave a Reply

