dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Unawares angels

on December 17, 2012

 

Digital Image

I love it that angels

come in different shapes and sizes:

tall and pregnant like my solicitor

who tries to protect me with the long arm of the law

(and disapproves when I duck under her flaming sword,

back into the fray, naked and defenceless);

others are small and scatty, warm and chatty,

a glam diva and a deep-bosomed giver of hugs,

senders of email jokes and quiet inspiration,

givers of well-timed imaginative invitation,

bearers of pot plants, jam and chutney,

purveyors of surprises, excursions, concerts,

trips to the cinema, lunch and walks:

encouragers, upholders every one.

I reckon entertaining unawares angels is a lot of fun.

(Copyright, Dorothy M. Stewart, 2006)

 

I wrote this six years ago – and am delighted to realise that it is as true today as it was then.

Thank you to my friends – my unawares angels. You know who you are!

2 responses to “Unawares angels

  1. Hilary says:

    In the dark hours when uncertainty is the only thing that is certain angels can be a marvellous help. Having had two years as a heretic in a convent school when I was eight years old guardian angels are the only thing that I remember with any happiness.

Leave a Reply

