dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Happy new resolutions!

on January 4, 2013

Dontcha just love ’em, new year’s resolutions? One of mine was to be grateful.

This is all Ann Voskamp’s fault with her wonderful book One Thousand Gifts and her fabulous blog, and God’s of course for prodding me till I got it.

Today I was doing OK. Even on a Friday – which those of you who have been following the blog since I started know is the day I take my husband out for lunch. He has dementia and it is progressing… as would be expected, with all the concomitant effects on both of us. But today we were doing all right. We had a nice lunch at our usual favourite place in a nearby town, finishing off with coffee and one of those yummy little macaroons.

Digital Image

Then I dropped him back at the residential care home where he lives and I came home, made another mug of coffee and took it upstairs to check my emails.

And knocked the whole mugfull over my laptop keyboard.

It is only the fourth of January.

It is far too soon to give up on my resolution, so:

  1. I am grateful that my house is relatively well soundproofed and I did not scare any horses when I ‘expressed my surprise’.
  2. I am grateful that my laptop is on a large varnished table with room for the spill to puddle on the top rather than soak into the carpet.
  3. I’m grateful to have carpet.
  4. I am extremely grateful that I did not panic. This has to be an unexpected benefit of coping with the spills and thrills of dementia.
  5. I am grateful that my study with my laptop is on the first floor of the house with a bathroom nearby where there is a supply of loo rolls.
  6. I am grateful that if you take two sheets of loo roll and fold them at the perforation, they then fit neatly between a row of laptop keys.
  7. I am very grateful that Co-op textured loo roll sucks up coffee like there’s no tomorrow.
  8. Plus I am very grateful – amazingly grateful as well as rather surprised – that my laptop is still working.
  9. In fact it’s working better now than it was this morning so another thank You for that.
  10. And I’m grateful for being able to stick to my resolution for a little longer!

 

4 responses to “Happy new resolutions!

  1. Helen Murray says:

    Go Dorothy. Disaster to triumph in a wonderful blog post.
    I suspect your New Year Resolution has already outlasted many. I’m still trying to nail down what mine might be!
    Thankyou for the smile.

  2. Hilary says:

    Perhaps it is also the time to be grateful that you do not take sugar in your coffee or it could have been a whole lot worse.
    H

Leave a Reply

