dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Work in progress

on January 10, 2013

“Nothing’s happened for a while.”

“Ah well, she was probably busy with Christmas. And the other book.”

“Do not mention the other book. You know it annoys me.”

“You don’t have to worry about it now. It’s gone.”

“Gone?”

“She’s sent it away.”

“When?”

“December 31st.”

“But that’s 10 days ago!!!! Why hasn’t she come back to me? Doesn’t she love me any more? Why am I just sitting here?”

“Pass.”

“I know I need a lot of work. Not just tinkering. Because she’s an editor, there aren’t many typos or stuff like that. I know I actually need a major overhaul.”

“She did start, before Christmas.”

“That’s true. I got some nice new characters – that lovely horrid mother person, for example.”

“I expect she’ll want to sit down and do a straight read-through first.”

“That’s never straight. She can’t resist just tweaking this and changing that. A comma here, a better word there. Don’t get me wrong: I don’t mind at all. I’m happy for her to get out the red pen and make changes – at least we’re working together again. It’s the sat here like an unwanted Christmas present she hasn’t decided what to do with that gets to me.”

“Cheer up. You know what she’s like. She has to get really bored before she’s galvanised back into action.”

“She’s got her nose in that Kindle. It might take some time.”

“She’s only got two more Kindle books from Christmas to read.”

“She does read fast.”

“That’s the ticket. She’ll be back.”

“Oh I do hope so. I don’t want her to give up on me…”

 

So how could I? Though I want to finish the fourth book in Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple series and the latest Laurie R. King. But I do read fast…

Leave a Reply

