dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Still my heart

on February 17, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Settle my silly heart, good Lord.
Hold me in your motherly embrace,
enfolded by your wings of peace and love,
and total acceptance. Soothe me,
love me into peace,
like a weaned child snuggled
in trust on her mother’s lap.
So hold me, Lord,
and let us enjoy
this time together.
Speak to my heart if you will,
but most of all, be present to me
and I to you.

Published in Women of Prayer ed. Dorothy Stewart (Lion Publishing/Loyola Press)

2 responses to “Still my heart

  1. 20angel13 says:

    Thank you. A prayer I can so relate to Dorothy. Sometimes I feel I’m twitching with technology – texts, emails, blogs etc – and find it harder than ever to “settle” and be still with my Father.
    A beautiful photo too – I love open windows, especially the ones with tiny square panes…

Leave a Reply

