dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

And for my next trick…

on February 27, 2013

There are people, I am reliably informed, who go around viewing houses for sale as a kind of hobby. Like window-shopping. My mother used to occasionally decide she wanted to move and would go on the prowl. This horrified my father because in Scotland an expression of interest is legally binding so you have to be careful what you say!

I’m not a happy house-hunter. I find it an exhausting and worrisome chore. But the For Sale sign went up on my house last summer. When hardly nobody came to view, I forgot all about it. Yes, you can become oblivious to a stonking great sign in your own front garden. It became useful for directing people to the house: ‘It’s the one with the For Sale sign.’

Then on Monday I got a phone call. Out of the blue, some people wanted to come and look at the house. I had a half-hour to tidy. I have not moved so fast nor tidied so efficiently in my life!

They came back yesterday.

I agreed their offer today.

And then the adrenaline fizzled out like a damp squib and I realised that I shall have to move out in a few short months. Find some place else. House-hunt.

It’s ridiculous how often we are sure about what we want, but when we get it, the worries set in. I remember when my decree nisi came through, I sat and wept – and I was the one who had pushed for a divorce. (With hindsight, it was the right decision, but at the time…)

Life throws changes at us. We can’t see round the next corner. There are few if any big clear signposts saying ‘God wants you to go this way’.

Digital Image

I suppose the benefit is that we have to pray more, seek God’s will more, and in the process spend more time with Him – which is never a bad thing!

 

One response to “And for my next trick…

  1. I’ve never bought or sold a house, but it seems like such a big decision. I pray the transitions ahead will be smooth ones.

Leave a Reply

