dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Skipping towards completion

on March 27, 2013

I love my skip. I am enjoying filling it up enormously. There is something so cathartic about decisively consigning stuff that’s been lurking around for far too long into its capacious embrace.

Digital Image

I think I may be running out of things to put in it and have to ask for it to be taken away – and I think I’ll miss its friendly rusty presence outside my house!

This afternoon I had help. First arrival was someone who thought he was turning up to remove my extensive cache of plant pots. I was on the phone sorting out the change in council tax for the new address so  simply gave him the key to the shed at the bottom of the garden and left him to get on with it.

Digital Image

When I caught up with him, he asked me what I was going to do with the rest of the stuff in the shed. Well, I said, I’d probably have to sort it and decide what went in the skip and what…. What followed was a rapid-fire question-and-answer session which swiftly separated the sheep from the goats and started filling my skip.

Somehow, from there, we moved on to the garage – my next worst bugbear! I suppose because the garage is en route from shed to skip, there is a logic to that – but now we had a system: he held something up, I said ‘skip’ or ‘keep’, and within an hour the garage was sorted too. Whew!

Then just as we stopped for coffee a friend arrived and provided a welcome break.

Frankly, folks, I’m having so much fun! And making good progress. We got to exchange on the house sale today. I’m hoping to sign the tenancy agreement for the new house tomorrow. Step by step, and at each step I find God’s amazing prevenient grace: He goes ahead of me and sets up good things.

I find myself smiling, and rejoicing in His love.

Leave a Reply

