dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Where I really am

on April 9, 2013

It’s a week since I last wrote a post. Last Tuesday, late afternoon, the packers had packed my home in boxes strapped in brown tape. My ministering angels had ministered and departed. My friend had visited and lifted my spirits.

And today, early evening the following Tuesday, I am typing this in my new study. The house is on a hill so my window looks out over a misty panorama of town and countryside. I think this will be a good place to work.

Bella, the vociferous upstairs cat, is quietly settled on the chair by the radiator in the front bedroom. It’s a nice quiet street and I have slept soundly every night so far. But this afternoon I moved the bed and the chest of drawers to a new, preferable position, and we shall see how I sleep tonight.

I have loaded the tiny third bedroom with the boxes I’m not planning to unpack and various other bags and bulky items. So now I have a genuine boxroom!

Digital Image

Downstairs there are still boxes and Lucy, the downstairs cat, has appropriated a box-tower for her perch!

I also moved the furniture in the sitting-room this afternoon and am much happier with the lay-out. It gives me a cosy corner for my armchair with a good view of the television, and good light for reading.

I’ve been surprised at how my emotions have swung from cheerful to sudden sorrow, but I suppose a house-move like this is simply another kind of bereavement, another little bit of loss.

I’m grateful for God’s reassurance that where I really am is under the shelter of his wings: “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty…. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you shall find refuge.” Psalm 91: 1, 4

 

One response to “Where I really am

  1. Wendy Jones says:

    So glad you are settled. May God bless you in your new home

Leave a Reply

