dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Onwards, even if it’s going to be tough!

on April 17, 2013

Done it! Yes, I plugged in the flash drive and opened the file on the novel. I last worked on it on 20th March when the total word-count was 52,303 words. All I’d planned for today was a gentle easing-into-it re-read. Which I did. And made myself cry! And of course the editor’s red-ink-stained fingers couldn’t keep off so as I pull out the flash-drive today, the word-count has gone up to 53,011.
Digital Image

I like it, I have to admit. I love my characters and am quite desperate to give my heroine the happy ending she deserves – but I know we’ve got some more tough times coming up for her as she’s still got a bit of growing and learning to do. I feel sorry about that. Can I bear to put her through it, I wonder. But I know it’s necessary. So I will do it.

And I wonder does God feel for us when He knows we’ve got necessary tough times ahead to get us where we need to be, to grow, to learn? Does His hand still for a moment with loving compassion?

And I think it does. And when we’re in the midst of it, we need to hold onto our faith in His enduring love for us. ‘For all things work together for good for those who love the Lord’ Romans 11:8. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

