dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Good goodbyes

on April 20, 2013

I’ve been to a post-funeral thanksgiving service and the refreshments afterwards – and come home happy and blessed. What a wonderful gift to everyone who attended. What a fabulous way to sign out – in the happy fellowship and joy-filled remembering of good friends.

And I realise I want that. I want a life that produces happy memories and smiles and laughter in my friends when it’s time to say goodbye. But how to get there?

A friend and I shared over the cake and coffee that we would both reach the great age of 64 in May. And we both remember the Beatles song about 64. Those memorable lines: ‘will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I’m 64’ and at the time we’d thought 64 was truly ancient! And now it’s next month!

How did that happen, especially when I still feel only 19? Or maybe 32 at a push? I just don’t get this chronology thing. Yes I know I’ve done a lot of living. No way could this be my 21st house-move without a goodly amount of living to go with it. But is time really now beginning to run out?

Time suddenly becomes precious.

Yet I still waste it. And grumble. And spoil what could be joy-filled precious moments with the hesitations of fear.

Today’s thanksgiving service celebrated a life well-lived. We do not know how much time we each have left. I’m challenged today to live my allocation as joyfully and productively and well as I possibly can. So there will be joy as well as coffee and cakes for my friends when it’s goodbye time for me.
Digital Image

5 responses to “Good goodbyes

  1. Eileen Clarke says:

    Dorothy age is just a number and at 64 I don’t think the Lord is ready for you yet. Well I hope not.

  2. MOLLY MARTIN says:

    Amen to rhe part about the service and ‘goodie’ afterwards even if there were those of us that threw them around!!!!! Wait till you get to grand old age of 66. I’m greedy -I’m not waiting till the final party – I’m having ‘A celebration of Life’ (what’s happened so far and I hope more to come on 7th September!!!! Remember? If you’ve got any of your books you would like to sell I’ll do a ‘spot.’
    and you can at the end of the service.Hope you have a great day tomoorow!

  3. John Murray says:

    Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young.
    Henry Ford

Leave a Reply

