dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Getting close to the finishing block

on June 24, 2013

I like deadlines. They really motivate me! I find that setting myself deadlines, including interim deadlines, helps me get things done. So today, I stand close to the end of the diving board of the deadline on the novel. I aimed to finish the first draft by the end of June! Today’s writing session clocked up nearly a thousand more words, getting the total to 73,255 words. And story-wise getting really close to crisis and close!

I think I might do it – or get very close!

Digital Image

And then what? Leave it to cool? Or dive straight in to writing that synopsis?

I’ve ordered and received the big box of typing paper and three more black ink cartridges for the printer so I can print off the first draft the minute it’s completed.

I know there will be lots more work to do. The first half has been revised several times but the second half has been put down fresh and it remains pretty well untouched.

I know there are facts that need verified as well. Maybe even some more visits to check out what places look like – or looked like back then. I’m toying with the idea of a mini-research trip – if I could find a few days clear.

It’s all very exciting really. I’d forgotten how one’s pulse speeds up as the end comes in sight. I’d forgotten the temptation to just sit down and thrash it all out in one several-days-long session, barely eating, sleeping or seeing the outside world. But I’m not going to do that. This deadline is under my control and I’m determined to pace myself. I want to get this book right, as right as ever I can.

So, today’s writing session over, I will let it all mull gently in my head, ready for tomorrow’s!

Leave a Reply

