dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Homeward Bound

on July 22, 2013

I had a busy day yesterday. And today was very hot.

Those are my excuses.

So I sat outside and read a book till lunchtime. Made a big salad. Ate it. Read some more.

Till that itchy feeling began. That feeling that tells you it’s time to quit stalling and do whatever it is you’ve been putting off. In my case: start the big read-through of the first draft of the novel.

This is it!

This is it!

So I fetched the box with the typescript in it, and a  notebook and a pen, and then went in search of the coolest place. Which turned out to be my bedroom.

I settled myself down on the bed with a bottle of cold water at my side and began to read.

I was afraid.

That it would be rubbish. That I’d wasted the past year and a bit on something worthless. I was afraid that it would be full of holes that I wouldn’t be able to fill. So badly written it would need a massive rewrite that maybe I don’t have the heart for. That I simply would not like it. That I’d have to slink away and hope nobody was ever churlish enough to ask me about it

It’s not. It’s not bad. So far. So I will dare to continue reading, pen in hand, making changes, expanding sections, cutting things, with a measure of hope.

This morning I overheard a young Mum speaking to her children. One was managing all right on his bike. She was helping the littler one to stay upright on his and at the same time wheel her heavy bike along too. One of the boys must have asked about her plans for the day and she replied, ‘We don’t have plans. We have hope.’

I like that. I’d really like this novel to be published, to be worth publishing – but I’m not going to build castles in the air with plans that may be dashed. Instead I’m going to hope and hang onto hope.

Oh and by the way, I think I just might have found the title for it. Homeward Bound.  Because my characters are homeward bound geographically, spiritually and emotionally. I think it might work.

 

4 responses to “Homeward Bound

  1. I love the title! How exciting to be reading it! It’s still your baby at the moment and someday it will will be enjoyed publicly I’m sure! =^.^=

  2. Joy Lenton says:

    Excellent title, Dorothy! It really fits the theme you outline here. So pleased you pushed past your fears and found the novel better than anticipated. Hope the rest of the editing process goes well. Enjoy the sunny days as you bask in the fruit of your labours and the end view hovers in sight! Blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

