dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Today is new book day!

on August 15, 2013

My new book is published today! I totally love the cover:

Still Caring - web

I think the team at publisher SPCK came up with the perfect title: Still Caring – because that’s what you do when someone you used to look after at home goes into residential care.

Coincidentally – or maybe not! – today is outing day for my husband. I told him about the book and we agreed this one and the previous book about at-home caring, One Day at a Time, are the silver lining to our journey with dementia – if they will help other carers learn more easily what I had to learn the hard way.

We’ve been on this road a long while and there is no knowing how much longer we’ll be travelling. My husband’s consultant suggested, when he diagnosed dementia six years’ ago, that the illness had been developing over the previous twenty years. Looking back, I can certainly see signs that now I know enough about the disease, I maybe might have picked up on.

No point beating myself up. It’s what everyone with a family member affected by dementia says: “I should have spotted it them. I just thought it was weird….”

We’ve been for our outing. Today’s only included a very brief pre-lunch shuffle. I notice differences – deteriorations – every time. But on we plod.

Lord, have mercy on everyone suffering from dementia and on everybody involved with their care.

Lord, have mercy.

Christ, have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.

Amen.

 

2 responses to “Today is new book day!

  1. Pat williamson says:

    Love the cover. Well done. Pat

Leave a Reply

