dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Reading the signs

on October 1, 2014

The leaves are changing colour and beginning to fall. It must be autumn.

Digital Image

Red sky at night – tomorrow will be lovely.

Digital Image

So many signs that we read so easily. And today I need to confess that I have rearranged my study. Repositioned my work table. Turned things round. It feels good. And I recognise it as a sign.

I don’t think I’m alone in needing to rearrange my space before I can get down to work again. All the little birds sort out their nests before they start getting productive, so why not me?

My lovely summer has rested me but also allowed the itch to be writing again to begin. Little insights about a key character’s motivations – previously undiscovered – are popping into my head at unexpected moments. Is it time, I wonder.

Is it time, I hope… because I love to write. I love to be immersed in the new world of a new novel, spending my time discovering interesting new people and what they will do next!

I plan to take it gently. Not rush in, but move gently towards it, and see if it will stay long enough for me to catch hold of it. And maybe, yes maybe, it’s time to seize the initiative and self-publish the last one… take a punt and see what happens. That’s if I can find the right title for it!

Leave a Reply

