dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Day One: First stop, Wetherby

on June 14, 2015

It’s five past six and I’ve arrived at the Days Inn, Wetherby, 203 miles from home, first stop on my travels. The delightful (and young) receptionist was completely unfazed by my inability to remember my car number so I could have free overnight parking. I had to go back out and write it down!

But it’s been a good day. Not weather-wise. That’s been grey and drizzly throughout. I’ve had the car headlights on and the windscreen wipers going intermittently the whole afternoon.

But it’s been a day with lots of joy in it. First of all the Partnership service at Emmanuel Church, Bungay where I caught up with so many friends.

Digital Image

The service was designed as a blessing for their retiring Methodist minister but I found it spoke to me of my setting out on something new and unknown. If I may quote the closing prayer/benediction:

We go seeing the glory of God in all the world;

We go carrying the name of Jesus to every place;

We go witnessing to the good news through the Spirit within us.

Alleluia. Amen.

One of my concerns about this trip has been the long hours of driving. A number of years ago I rather foolishly hurtled back from a trip to Somerset, doing the five and a half hours without a stop! As a result I damaged my right knee. The (younger-than-me) doctor said it was arthritis. ‘I’m not having that!’ I declared. ‘I’m not old enough!’ and was told firmly that oh yes I was!

He arranged for me to see a physio and after a consultation I was sent off with exercises, and instructions that I could only drive for one and a quarter hours before I had to stop for a break. I dutifully followed instructions and the knee seemed to have healed up. But I know how easy it is to wreck it and have been worried.

So today, I was a good girl and stopped for an apple, a sip of water and a walk around a layby after the first hour and a quarter. But when the second hour and a quarter was up and I was scanning the road for a service station with a cafe where I could have a comfort break, none hoved into view. For another three-quarters of an hour.

The good news is a) the knee seems ok

and b) at the Little Chef I stopped at, they were serving hot chocolate brownies with vanilla ice cream. Nice!

Digital Image

Leave a Reply

