dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Day Ten: Down Memory Lane: Wick High School

on June 23, 2015

This morning I found myself walking down memory lane – almost literally, except it’s called Newton Road and is on the way to the secondary school I (and both my sisters) attended.In those long ago days, you went to the local school. There was one secondary school in Wick for the east side of the county and one in Thurso for the north and west side of the county. Three junior secondaries fed country kids into the two main schools at third year.

Today I went back to school.

Wick High School

Wick High School

I liked school. I enjoyed walking across town with my friends – almost a mile each way – and we did it four times a day, coming home for lunch from quarter to one till two o’clock. We worked out it took twelve and a half minutes to do the trip if we walked briskly – and on cold days walking briskly was the only way to go!

I enjoyed the actual teaching – English and History were my favourite and best subjects. And today I was back in school to do a bit of teaching in the English Department. It was an author visit – my historical novel, When the Boats Come In, the door-opener. But I wasn’t there to plug the book but to help with short story writing – and hopefully enthuse any youngsters harbouring the dream of being a writer themselves one day.

It was enjoyable – and hard work! I so admire teachers who do it all day long. My first group – thirteen fifth and sixth-formers – were with me for an hour and a half. The next two groups – around twenty in each – got the first half of the presentation in a forty-minute session. They’ve gone away with homework to do before returning tomorrow for the second half: a fifty-word saga with a clear beginning, middle and end.

We’ll see how they do!

Leave a Reply

