dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

All Systems Go!

on August 28, 2015

I’ve pressed ‘Send’ and now the manuscript of the new book is in the Inbox of Paul, my publisher at Zaccmedia.

Digital Image

The sun is shining outside my study window, reminding me that there’s a world out there – a world completely different from the late 1890s that I’ve been inhabiting with my characters. It’s the start of a Bank Holiday weekend here in England but a large part of my mind is still in Canada, Buenos Aires, Scotland…

These people – Belle and her sister Hannah, and the three lads (Rab, Hughie and Geordie) – have been my constant companions, living in my heart and mind, for a while now and it’s hard to leave them. Like putting down a gripping novel you’ve been reading, not wanting the story to end…

But here’s the sweet and special joy of this project. Pressing ‘Send’ is not the end. Because this manuscript is only the beginning – Book One in a trilogy – and once I’ve refilled the larder, spring-cleaned the house, cut the grass, seen to the admin, maybe even had a day or two off, I can move into the research for Book Two. And I’m really looking forward to it!

Book One of the Mizpah Ring Trilogy is due out the first week of December. It’s called Seedtime  and follows the five young people as their lives interweave and tangle, in love and hate, devotion and betrayal. There are a couple of murders, and a couple of births – because this book is about the first generation. Book Two takes up the story with the next generation, and Book Three with the third when everything gets sorted out.

I’ve loved researching and writing it. It’s very different from When the Boats Come Home, my first novel, but I hope my readers will love this one just as much!

Leave a Reply

