dorothystewartblog

about writing and life and God

Daring to start

on December 29, 2015

I’d planned to start writing the new book on the first Monday in the New Year.  I thought it was a good plan, but… I couldn’t wait. Because people who have read Mizpah Ring are all asking when the next one will be out. And since the next one is Mizpah Ring book 2, The second generation, I reckon I’d better get on with it!

And I really want to. The story is pressing to get out. The characters alive and kicking. I know the start and the end of this book, a couple of great scenes in the middle, but I need to write it to find out the rest!

So this morning – the first after the Christmas holidays – I got to my desk shortly after 9 o’clock and settled down to writing. Blue skies and sunshine tempted me to leave the work and go out… But I want to get back into my writing routine so I wrote till 10.30 then stopped for a break and a walk round the garden.

Even though it’s still December, the birds were singing and there are signs of new life – of spring.

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

 

And I feel my early start on the new book is a hopeful sign too. Though the pessimists among you may point out that the tender young flowers of daffodils and winter jasmine won’t fare so well when winter finally grips the land in its icy clutches!

Maybe doubts and fears will also slow my enthusiasm and my early start will stutter. But for the moment I’m going to enjoy the process.

‘May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.’Romans 15:13

 

2 responses to “Daring to start

  1. Good luck with your new book.

Leave a Reply

