Caithness, History, Scotland, Uncategorized, Wick, Writing

Mens sana in corpore sano

After a long, long comfortable night’s sleep, I made a start on the house-hunting this morning with visits to  two local estate agents. There are some properties I’d like to take a look at so I hope we can arrange some viewings for the next few days. I’m going to have to remember to keep my phone switched on so I can pick up messages!

Digital Image

Digital Image

I found a smallish convenient supermarket in the main street, quite near to my lovely rented flat, and to my delight discovered an Aberdeen delicacy I haven’t tasted in years: Butteries! These are a Scottish kind of croissant. Not crescent-shaped but round and flat. Buttery, as the name suggests, and salty and very delicious. I’m planning on having two with some hot soup for my supper.

Buttries 001.JPG

After lunch, I headed up to the amazing Caithness archive facility, NUCLEUS.

Day 3 August 2018 006.JPG

I’m not really ready to do much more than wide reading round the period (1883?) and topics I think might appear in the next book, so I only wanted to discover what resources might be available to me. And catch up with the team, of course!

From there I took myself on my first ever visit to the very wonderful new public library, where the reference librarian gave me a guided tour of the vast and eclectic store of books and materials in my subject area – and of the huge swimming pool and workout facilities located in the same building. I reckon it’s a great idea to have them side by side. I can imagine myself working on research till my shoulders cramp, then going for a swim, or maybe a workout on an exercise bike or rowing machine!

Day 3 August 2018 009.JPG

 

 

 

Leave a comment