Cats, Uncategorized, Writing

A dormouse diversion

The dormouse is the only British creature which properly hibernates through the winter. This very sensible small mammal sleeps for about six months of the year, curled up nice and warm in a cosy nest of leaves.

As I drove home this afternoon across rain-drenched countryside with the sky rapidly darkening from the blanket of daytime grey to early evening darker grey, I have to recognise what a superior creature the tiny dormouse is. Though my mother always reckoned she herself was of a naturally hibernating temperament. And I have to wonder about the effect of such genetics.

I admit I find it harder to get going when the mornings are dark and chilly. I don’t think I’ll be giving up my morning mug of full-caffeine coffee before spring. I need the wake-up jolt. And when the nights are cold and dark, a comfortable chair, a warm cat on the lap, and a good book is very appealing. So I don’t think I’ll be attending many evening meetings this winter.

How tempting it is to indulge in a kind of semi-hibernation. I just hope I’m not as cross-tempered as the downstairs cat, Lucy, when disturbed.

Churchill, seemingly, was a great devotee of the cat-nap. It’s not something I’ve ever been able to do. I need the full works of a comfy bed, room to stretch out, a warm cover over me, preferably darkness or dim light.. Oh dear, even thinking about it is making me yawn! Stop! It’s far too early to even permit such somnolence-inducing thoughts…

SAD is a very real presence for those of us from northern climes and I have to remind myself to take every chance of getting out into whatever sunshine/bright daylight is available. Today there has been very little.

But as I said yesterday, tomorrow is another day.

Ah. Yes. Well, the thing is I had meetings all day today. That’s why I have done nothing on either book or my prep for my next Sunday’s service. And the weather and the grey skies have nothing to do with that. So whether the sun shines tomorrow or not, when tomorrow arrives, it will be time to get back to work!

1 thought on “A dormouse diversion”

Leave a comment